L-Ghasri is the smallest village of Gozo. The village lies cuddled between the hills of Iz-Zebbug and Ghammar. The name has obvious Arab origins, possibly being an area where olives were crushed for oil. L-Ghasri is reached by forking right on the Victoria-L-Gharb road just after the Aqueduct.
A lighthouse on Gurdan hill, better known as the Gurdan Lighthouse dominates L-Ghasri. The famous lighthouse rises 180 metres above sea level and was inaugurated in 1853. Its beam can be seen up to 50 kilometres away. Upon the hill around the lighthouse there are some marvellous 360 degree views of Gozo and this lures quite a lot of hikers, who challenge the rather steep path up to the hilltop.
From the Village Square, a road leads to the fabulous valley of Wied L-Ghasri. On the way, there are a number of typical farmhouses, most of them available for short or long lets, as well as an old charming chapel dedicated to the Patronage of the Blessed Virgin Mary.The Wied L-Ghasri area is a marvellous country walk or cycling site especially in Winter and Spring. The valley ends in the sea, wedged between high cliffs where a secluded little inlet makes it ideal for swimming, snorkelling and diving. Indeed, the sea around Wied L-Ghasri is very popular among divers.
The village church, designed by a local priest, Dun Guzepp Diacono, was build early in the twentieth century. Its foundation stone was laid on 6 September 1903 and it was dedicated to the Corpus Christi on 9 January 1916 and later on to Christ the Saviour. The village was established a parish by Bishop Giovanni Maria Camilleri on 16 December 1921.